My Own Pinterest Challange


Pinboard “Health

Pinboard Art

Lately, I’m sure, some of my friends have noticed an unusual amount of activity from me on Pinterest.  Once I was invited to join the site I started pinning right away and looking for my friends to join or connect with me.

The appeal of using a social site like Pinterest is the complete freedom of artistic expression for absolutely anyone.  Everyone is a designer of what I what I would call their own “magazine” by creating boards on topics they like.  It can be a solo activity in which the pinner keeps his/her boards private to enjoy alone, but the real fun is sharing with people with similar interests.  It is also special in that friends can see in a click what you want to share.  There is no special language or the frustration from a lack of understanding how the site works.  It’s genius is it’s simplicity.

Sometimes it’s easier to show than to write.

So now, I’ve come up with a challenge for myself.  I have been creating “themes”  in which I try to make at least the first 4 or 5 rows on my site a cohesive blend of specific colors and subjects.  My first attempt was a lavender/pink mix.  I loved the look it gave my site.  So next, in honor of the beginning of summer, I tried to create blue-greens with a beach theme.  That worked out nicely.  This time around, a friend on Pinterest from Ebay pointed out that orange is a current color trend.  It inspired me to create a theme on melons.  I am very pleased with results.  You can see it currently on my Pinterest site:  www.pinterest.com/janepurcell.

I welcome any questions or suggestions on colors and/or themes!

melon art

Pinboard “Huh?”

One Response to My Own Pinterest Challange

  1. […] My Own Pinterest Challange (janepurcell.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

